Tuesday, April 20, 2010

Honoree Stephen King to appear in LA

15th Annual Los Angeles Public Library Awards Dinner
(Reposted from the Library Foundation Of Los Angeles Calendar)

Wednesday, May 19, 2010 6:00 PM

HONOREES: STEPHEN KING & THE AHMANSON FOUNDATION Share On Wednesday, May 19, 2010, the 15th Annual Los Angeles Public Library Awards Dinner will be held at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza.

The Library Foundation of Los Angeles hosts the Library Awards Dinner each spring to help augment critical funding. The proceeds of the 2010 Awards Dinner will help the Los Angeles Public Library provide reading enrichment and literacy programs and related books and materials, educational and cultural activities for all ages, and public access to the latest electronic information resources.

During the dinner, two honorees will be celebrated for outstanding achievement:

•The Literary Award is awarded to a writer for his or her contribution to literature. This year the award will be given to Stephen King.

•The Light of Learning Award is given in recognition of an individual or organization that has made outstanding contribution to reading, libraries, and learning. The award this year will go to The Ahmanson Foundation.

Stephen King was born in Portland, Maine in 1947. He made his first professional short story sale in 1967 to Startling Mystery Stories. In the fall of 1973, he began teaching high school English classes at the public high school. Writing in the evenings and on the weekends, he continued to produce short stories and to work on novels. In the spring of 1973, Doubleday & Co. accepted the novel Carrie for publication, providing him the means to leave teaching and write full-time. He has since published over 40 books and has become one of the world’s most successful writers. King is the recipient of numerous awards including the 2003 National Book Foundation Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters, 2007 Grand Master Award from the Mystery Writers of America, American Library Association’s 1978 and 1981 Best Books for Young Adults. King lives in Maine and Florida with his wife, novelist Tabitha King. They are regular contributors to a number of charities including many libraries and have been honored locally for their philanthropic activities.

The Ahmanson Foundation was incorporated in 1952 as a private foundation with initial funding from financier Howard F. Ahmanson and his wife, Dorothy Grannis Ahmanson. Ahmanson was passionately committed to community building—building the fiber of the community itself, its culture, its education, its social fabric. He believed that the business community had a responsibility to contribute to the community at large and that money he had earned in Southern California should be spent in Southern California. Following his death in 1968, the Foundation’s corpus was augmented and the Board of Trustees grew to include distinguished and visionary community members. While The Foundation’s grantmaking has evolved to meet the challenges of a Los Angeles far more complex than it was in 1952, the simple principle of building community for the common good remains a constant anchor. The Foundation has donated over $4.3 million to the Library Foundation of Los Angeles beginning with the Save the Books campaign and annually supporting children, youth and technology programs

15th Annual Los Angeles Public Library Awards Dinner
Make a Reservation for visit above link:

$50,000.00 Diamond
$25,000.00 Platinum
$12,500.00 Gold
$7,500.00 Silver
$500.00 Individual
To reserve more than 10 tickets for one program, call (213) 228-7025.

I am pleased to hear he will be receiving this award.  If anyone deserves it, it is you SK!  Congrats.

1 comment:

  1. This sounds like a lovely event but waaaaay to spensive Lucy! :) If only I were rich.....


Thanks for leaving your comments. We love your feedback. :)

Total Pageviews

Popular Posts